Friday, March 11, 2011

"More Mo Willems!" demanded the Pigeon. The Alligator agreed.

Hooray for Amanda and her Alligator!
by Mo Willems
HarperCollins, May 2011
Reading Amanda and her Alligator, I could not help but be reminded of Maurice Sendak, particularly his nutshell library (alligators all around floated through my head). Yet Willems crates a story all his own. Told in chapters like a beginning reader, we learn of Alligator's life: his delights, his worries, and his terrific discoveries. He's a sweet and lovable character- even if he is only worth seven cents. Willems' story will have kids laughing as usual in this delightful book- a next step for readers of Elephant and Piggie.

No comments:

Post a Comment